Posted by: reformbama | September 23, 2010

“Patchwork Theology”

Are you guilty of “Patchwork Theology”. The kind of theology where you just take different bit of things from different sources. Are you discerning about what you take and put together? Do you just grab something in passing because it “sounds” good and pass it on?
Do you hold it up to the light of Scripture? Do you think biblically? Or do you just want your ears tickled?

Read the following excerpt from John MasArthur:

We already spoke about the dangerous seasons concocted by seducing spirits and propagated by false teachers. And here’s what makes them so successful. Seasons come, throughout all of church history, when people don’t want to hear sound doctrine. They refuse the truth that saves…the truth that sanctifies.

Back in chapter 2 verse 16, they go after worldly empty chatter that leads to further ungodliness. It’s nothing but talk that spreads like gangrene. It’s deadly. The word for verse 3, “sound doctrine,” is healthy teaching. We’re in a season like that, I believe. Doctrine is a bad word. The prevailing mood in the culture is that every person should determine truth for himself and that’s crept into the church, as we’ve been saying.

I told you this many years ago. I was going through Arkansas one time in the rain, it was like an evening like this one. I was driving a little tiny Honda with Lance Quinn back to see my son Mark playing a baseball game and take him his car for the summer. And he thought he would be somewhere in the west, but he ends up in Savannah, Georgia. So I went all across America in that little Honda to give him his car. That’s what dads are for, right? Driving through a rainstorm going through Arkansas on a country road, wasn’t sure where I am. Saw a sign that said “Quilts.” And I thought, “I’ll go buy Patricia a quilt.” And so, I went up to the door in the rain and it was a kind of a steamy rain and I banged on this screen and I…a funny lady came to the door. “What ken I do fer you?”

And I said, “Well, I was looking for a quilt for my wife.”

“Oh, I’ve got jest exactly what you want. Come in.”

So I came in, it was real dark and stuffy and she brought out a quilt that was the worst looking thing I ever saw in my entire life. It had no rhyme or reason…it had no particular color. It was…it was absolutely chaos fabricated. And I didn’t know what to say, but I said…”Well, you know, that is a quilt.” And I said, “You know, I think it’s…I don’t think it’s the color I was looking for.”

And she said, “How can that be? It’s every color.”

And I said, “Well, yeah, but…I think I was looking for something blue, you know.”

“Oh,” she said, “well I’m so sorry because every piece in this quilt is from a part of our lives through all of these years and it’s all little bits and pieces of all the quilts I’ve ever made all made into this quilt. So it’s kind of like my…my life story in a quilt.”

Well then I felt worse. But I still didn’t want it. And all of a sudden I met her husband…her husband was in there and I looked over at him and he was sitting in a chair and he had a pile of literature beside his chair. And on top I saw books from Moody Press and Chuck Swindoll. And I walked over and then I saw books from the Unity Church. And then I saw Mormon stuff. And then I saw…he had piles and piles of this stuff and I said, “Boy, you have some collection here.”

I’ll never forget what he said. His name was Johnny, he said, “Oh, there’s good in all of it.” And I realized she had quilted his theology.

What do you mean there’s good in all of it? You know, we live in a time when the evangelical church wants to get together to fight abortion, to get together and fight homosexuality and its inroads into our culture and lesbianism. Let’s get together and fight for prayer in the schools and let’s fight against euthanasia.

You know what the most deadly form of wickedness is? Perversion of the truth. I can’t convince them to get together to fight that in a tolerant climate. Here they are, they just want to have their ears tickled.

What does that mean? Ah, it just means that they want a message that makes them feel good. They’re driven by their sensual desires. They want preachers who promise excitement and success and prosperity. And they want to jump up and down and run around and feel good…or feel better about themselves, get an emotional thrill or feel some bump in self-esteem. Marvin Vincent wrote, “In periods of unsettled faith, skepticism and mere curious speculation in matters of religion, teachers of all kinds swarm like flies in Egypt. The demand creates the supply. The hearers invite and shape their own preachers. If the people desire a calf to worship, a ministerial calf maker is easily found.”

And it’s sad because people want ear-tickling teachers so they accumulate them according to their own feelings. And they turn their ears away from the…what?…truth. That’s where we are. And that doesn’t change anything that we do, does it? It shouldn’t. I guess at this point in my life I just feel like if this is the way the trend is going, we just need to crank up the truth louder. And that’s not anything noble, that’s what we have been commanded to do. When I have done everything I could do, I have only done what I ought to do. Right?

Well, was Timothy faithful to this? That’s really…what’s the end of the story? I mean, he’s…Paul’s at the end of his life, was he faithful? Turn to Hebrews 13:23, we’ll close with this. Hebrews 13:23, the writer of Hebrews closing out this great epistle, this is a neat little verse tucked in here. Hebrews 13:23…well actually we’ll start at verse 22, “I urge you, brethren, bear with this word of exhortation for I have written to you briefly,” I like that, 13 chapters and he calls that brief. Then verse 23, “Take notice that our brother, Timothy, has been…what?…released.” Where do you think he had been? In prison. He must have been faithful because he must have excited the enemy, right?, when they threw him in prison. And he was released. Suffering became for Timothy the bench mark of his faithfulness just as it had been for his beloved mentor, the Apostle Paul. The end of the story, he must have preached the Word…amen?…

Click here for the whole message   http://www.biblebb.com/files/mac/80-226.htm

Leave a Reply

Categories

