Posted by: reformbama | October 28, 2010

“Two Part Survey”

Kinda two parts, I guess you could say it is the same question but different, and as I type this I think of more q’s.

 

When was the first time you learned any church history, how old were you?

When did you first learn about the reformation and Martin Luther?

Have your ever heard of the 5 Solas?

Do you ever recall learning anything about church history in your LifeWay Material? Not talking about cultural things.

My blanket answer to those questions, I was in my 30’s.

Go to the comments and answer away. I know Wolfe was born with that knowledge.

If you know nothing about church history, the Reformation, or the 5 solas, you can listen to a good sermon on that

right here. The 5 Solas Of The Reformation

Responses

  1. 1) Not until I was in my late 30’s and we were beginning to study what the Scripture really said as we came out of several successive church struggles. That study naturally led to some church history study. Quite eye-opening.

    2) I had heard of Martin Luther and the reformation but I didn’t know anything of substance until above.

    3) Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!! No.

    4) Shane Wolfe was one of my best teachers on this subject. 🙂

  2. When was the first time you learned any church history, how old were you? About 37-38 years old….

    When did you first learn about the reformation and Martin Luther? We had read about Martin Luther but not in depth until we felt like our beliefs were leaning towards being Reformed…so about 5 years ago…but it wasn’t until about 3-4 years ago when we even knew what “Reformation day” meant….

    Have your ever heard of the 5 Solas? nope!

    Do you ever recall learning anything about church history in your LifeWay Material? Not talking about cultural things. really? are you serious? We were only SB for 10 years but they almost always cycle the SAME 40 stories and bible focuses throughout….bwhaaaaaaaaa! but I think they are totally misguided….in negating church history.

    • If the 30 plus people that viewed this page would have answered I could do a trend. From what I know about people around me I could say the majority did not know squat until the 30 years and could say the same about LifeWay. I see black helicopters.

  3. Well AND if we hadn’t have been lead towards the direction of being Reformed in faith and had continued to stay at the same church etc…I don’t know that we would have known about it today…well I think Angie has mentioned it on her blog…so maybe I might have investigated it…..but it is doubtful. I am very thankful where the Lord has brought us!


Leave a Reply

Categories

