Posted by: reformbama | December 10, 2010

“Don’t Know If I Can Keep From….”

…….. Posting My Yearly Christmas Expose’.

Folks all over this once great country are making it very hard for me not to post it. But I have got to post something.

Those that have read the posts in the past ask this question “Is is Scriptural or just traditional?”

Which should we live by, Scripture or MAN MADE traditions?

All the man made traditions, that have been added to a RC cop out to satisfy the pagans in the day, does is to create stress on families and loved ones.

You know if we really believe the “He’s the reason for the season” or “keep Christ in CHRISTmas” campaign slogans we would dump all the extra junk and just focus on HIM. But no, WE will never do that because we are so wrapped up on traditions and being a greedy bunch of people to do that.

So sit back and see if you can find anything in Scripture that supports anything we do on Christmas and during the Christmas season.
Can you go back to early church history, and I mean early, during the apostolic days and find anything like what we do today?

One more question, “How much more different does your Christmas day LOOK from a secular Christmas day?”

http://www.mindposts.com/uncategorized/celebrate-a-rational-holiday-with-the-atheist-christmas-coloring-book

Go, give it a shot.

***Couple of rules to commenting. Do not come at me with the “Well we make Christ the main point and still do Santa and all the other things” or anything along those lines. Go to Scripture and search the heck out of it before you come and comment something. If you find something then bring it. You better check context. If you are not going to do that then don’t comment at all.***

Responses

  1. Mark, I haven’t been reading your blog because while I love you dearly, I disagree with you on some strong stands that you have. I admire the fine Christian and Godly man you are and I am VERY thankful to have you as an integral part of my family’s lives, I enjoy your writings and I deeply appreciate the impact you have on my life in many different things and while I vowed to not read or post anything because we all have our opinions and part of the lessons we learn in life involve being able to “agree to disagree”, we won’t ALL see eye to eye on everything but as long as we are together on CHRIST that is truly what our mission is about among other things.
    With that said I must reply to this post regardless of you telling me not to come at you with we make Christ the center of it all but we still do Santa and “other things”
    I don’t need to check scripture to know that Santa is NOT a part of Christmas, I don’t need to check context to bring it back to you but I am going to comment!

    Nine months ago today I sat by my husband’s bedside, held his hand and stroked his face as he prepared to meet his Lord and Savior. It was ONE. OF. THE. HARDEST. THINGS. I. HAVE. EVER. HAD. TO DO. IN . MY LIFE. I love the Lord with ALL of my heart and this life I live is about Him but I couldn’t even begin to grasp “why” all of this was happening and “why” God chose my family to suffer. For months I have felt as though God punished me by taking Tony away, for months I have been fighting depression, grief and trying to move on in this life without Tony.
    I have faced more in these nine months than I ever thought imaginable but yet through it all God has been right by my side, His answers are still not there for me but in due time if it’s His will, He will provide me with the answers I beg for daily.
    Life as we knew it has become a living nightmare and we struggle every. single. day. just to hold on. I know that God is with me. I know that God loves us. I know that God holds my family together and I know that scripture feeds our souls.

    I don’t need anyone to tell me that Santa, Christmas trees, lights, decorations, etc. is NOT what Christmas is all about, it’s about the birth of a baby that was sent to die for our sins…what we face in this world pales in comparison to what He did for us, what He endured for our sins. That is the only GIFT anyone needs.
    I put up a tree, I decorated, I put out a nativity, we have Christmas traditions that we do each year, I LOVE Santa(s), I love looking at Christmas lights but I don’t worship those things, we center our CHRISTmas around the birth of baby Jesus, we adopt a child to sponsor at Christmas who is less fortunate than we are, for the youngest child we do Santa, (the teenager knows he is not real) and Zachary knows that Santa isn’t what CHRISTmas is about, he doesn’t BELIEVE in Santa over Christ, he’s a young Christian this year and he will be the first to tell you that the greatest gift under the tree is “Jesus”, it doesn’t get any better than that.
    So while I understand what you are saying and I agree that no where in scripture is ANY of what we do written in context, but for us the true meaning is and always will be “CHRIST”, the rest of what we do is merely just for sheer joy.
    But please after what we have endured this year don’t condemn me and tell me that what I do is wrong, or that I don’t live by scripture. I don’t believe in man made traditions first, I believe in God. Our hearts are in the right place and as we celebrate this first Christmas without Tony, we don’t take anything away from Christ, we continue to seek His will for our lives.
    A simple tree with lights, a special ornament hung on the tree or Santa does not make us non Christians but if it brings us one tiny smile inside our broken hearts, one glimpse of what it would be like to celebrate Christmas in Heaven with Jesus like Daddy is, the joy of giving to others, or the “magic” of hope, peace and love than it is by far worth it because unless CHRISTmas is found “first” in our hearts, it will never be found under a tree.

    Merry Christmas Mark (Fat Daddy), we love you!

    • You miss the point of this post and letting emotion drive you. Because of who you are I will not bump your comment even though you broke the rule :-). Had to bump several already.

      And I am not condemning you or anyone who has a tree or whatever traditions and not saying anyone is a non Christian if they do.
      Penny can throw up a tree if she wants to, I ain’t gonna help. because it will go against a personal conviction. Does that mean I hate people that don’t have the same convictions, no. Do I look down on them, no. If people read this and go ah, I see that, I don’t expect them to jump on the band wagon with me. I expect them to go to Scripture and dig and then dig some more.

      This is a make you think blog.

      “The material you are about to read may confront you with a position you have never before considered. We must be aware of the dangers of prejudice concerning such matters. I fear we often hold convictions without having ever examined them with care. We become accustomed to certain expressions without taking the time to see if they stand up to the scrutiny of Scripture.” – Michael Gaydosh “Open my eyes that I may behold wonderful things from your law” – Psalm 119:18

      And every stand I take is based off of Scripture and will keep those stands until someone proves me wrong with Scripture. So far no one has. It is not about “opinions”. It is about what Scripture says, and it only means one thing. What it meant when it was wrote still stands today and forever.
      Is not Scripture Alone, Sola Scriptura, our guide, rule book, the source of all our understanding. I’ve said it before. Scripture or man made traditions. Which do we follow?
      Are we even told to celebrate Christmas every year, not even celebrating on the right day…

      The stands I make are nothing new. They are found in the early church history when they were not stands.

      Christ Alone, Solus Christus, should be enough to make us smile. Do you think what was driving Paul’s joy when he was in prison and awaiting to get his head chopped off was a Christmas tree in the corner, no, they did not do that then. Where did he find it? The Old Testament and the promise of what Christ did on the cross.

      Don’t believe in man made traditions yet WE, can’t emphasis we enough, keep following them.

      Romans 12:1-2 1Therefore (A)I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to (B)present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship.
      2And do not (C)be conformed to (D)this world, but be transformed by the (E)renewing of your mind, so that you may (F)prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.

  2. By all means don’t bend the rules for me. I am no one special so feel free to bump.
    I may have been driven by emotion, actually I was driven by emotion but I spoke how I feel. You may NOT have intended to condemn but that is how I see it. It makes me feel that because I don’t share the same beliefs that you do that I am not as good of a Christian, now please understand that I said “it makes me feel” not stating that you said those things. I guess my problem is I’m not convicted enough in those things as I should be…although I do have an unshakable belief in God, no proof or evidence needed so I am “convicted” there. Please don’t break your blog rules for me, those same rules apply to everyone, no harm would be taken.

  3. i am a new marine this year and a new christian. i will admit that some of the guys and i hung christmas lights and put a santa and sleigh out front. we know this is not christian but it reminds us of our families back home and those old taditions. for many of us this is our first holiday away from home. is there any real harm done by what we did?

    • Patrick first let me say thank you from the bottom of my heart for your service to our country and may you carry that commitment over to the service of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

      There is no “real” harm in it. Being a new Christian your convictions will vary and hopefully grow as you study Scripture, that is more important that keeping your M-4 clean.
      Just keep in mind we serve a jealous God. And his Son who suffered greatly and died for our sins. Over the years I have grown to see how flippant and disrespectful these man made traditions of Christmas and Easter, I prefer resurrection Sunday, bring upon what our Lord Jesus accomplished us. Christmas has not always been celebrated like it is now. It came from a compromise. I you want I can send you a good history on Christmas.
      I also realize you are probably away from home and do what gives you comfort. When you grow in Christ you find comfort more and more in Scripture alone, Sola Scriptura, and the assembling with fellow believers. So celebrate.

      Please feel free to roam around my blog and go thru all information provided and check the blog roll out. Read thru the comments. It will be beneficial to a new believer.

      Thank you again for your service and be blessed!

  4. thanks. btw we not using m4s though, we using the m16a4.


Leave a Reply

Categories

