Posted by: reformbama | January 17, 2011

“Knowing Scripture Book Review”

Beginning my book review of “Knowing Scripture” by R.C. Sproul. I am going to do this by chapters because I do not have much time to put into it, plus my access to the internet has become limited.
After a great forward by J.I. Packer, I will return to that in a later post, R.C. starts off in chapter one called “Why Study The Bible” . He starts off by giving us two myths why most people don’t study the Bible. Myths passed off as truisms.
Myth 1 The Bible is so difficult to understand that only highly skilled theologians with technical training can deal with Scripture.

Like R.C. says in his book, I hear the same things, said “It’s too deep” I can’t really understand it” “It’s too hard”. When they say it they want to hear back “Yes dear I know it’s hard to understand, only seminary grads can understand it”. Believe it or not that answer they want to get back to ease their conscience is done from many pulpits. Of course if you say something enough times people will start to believe it. We forget we get the Holy Spirit at the moment of salvation to help us understand the basic meanings of Scripture. R.C. was too nice not to mention that most people are just too lazy to read the Bible. R.C. Also says that its repeated so much we are not expected to be challenged.The Chicago Statement on Biblical Hermeneutics  (1982) affirm  “that a person is not dependent for understanding of Scripture on the expertise of biblical scholars.”

If we can read the newspapers or blogs we can read the Bible.

Myth 2The bible is boring.

This one steams me up. Boring? You got to be kidding me. I hate when I hear that. Frankly I think you better examine yourself if you think the Bible is boring. IT IS ALIVE people! If you want to pawn off that the story of Jesus and what He did for us is boring, you have issues.  R.C. talks about when he was hired to teach at a Christian college the president said “We need someone young  and exciting , someone with dynamic method who will be able to ‘make the Bible come alive’” R.C. wanted to respond by saying “You want me to make the Bible come alive? I didn’t know it had died. In fact I never even heard it was ill. Who was the attending physician at the Bible’s demise?” He goes to say, “No, I can’t make it come alive for anyone. The Bible is already alive. It makes me come alive.”

This chapter also covers the Clarity of Scripture, The problem of motivation, The Biblical Basis For Bible Study, Every Christian Is A Theologian, The Bible as Revelation, Theory and Practice, The Sensuous Christian, A Matter Of Duty,
I am not going to go into all those sub chapters because you need to get the book and read it. I will at a later date pull some quotes out of those chapters that I think are useful.  That’s it for now, I hope you go get the book and read it.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

