Posted by: reformbama | March 7, 2011

“Serious Question”

I saw this tonight in a status comment:

People are getting excited and that gets God excited!

I would like to know how a omnipotent, omniscience God can get excited?

This is a serious question. I have never thought of that because I have always viewed God as omnipotent and omniscience. Knows all sees all, past present and future. you know can read minds. Knew I was going to post this before I did. How can He get excited, He can be pleased, but what about getting excited over what He knows will happen according to His will?

If He can, please point me to the Scripture(s) that tells of Him getting excited.

Responses

  1. The saddest part about the comment is that they believe that God’s ’emotions’ are dependent on man’s. A subtle comment that points to a man centered religion. How weak and impotent a god that sits around waiting for man to do something so that he can be roused. Anyone that makes a statement about the character of God might need to have a better understanding of who he actually is before they start telling everyone how he acts.

  2. Paul Washer (who I notice you reference frequently) has a sermon on Song of Solomon. Song of Solomon 4:9 says, “Thou hast ravished my heart, my sister, my spouse; thou hast ravished my heart with one of thine eyes, with one chain of thy neck.” Washer interprets this as a picture of Christ’s love for His Bride, the Church, and specifically the individual Christian looking to Him in prayer. He says that Christ’s heart is “ravished” which literally means that His heart “races” or “speeds up” because of His love for the Christian. Sure sounds like excitement.


Leave a Reply

Categories

