Posted by: reformbama | October 6, 2011

“Judging”

I wrote this one a while back and decide not to post it. Changed my mind.

I must ask “Are you judging my judging?” I get numerous people that fly by that judge me. About what you might ask. Usually about me judging bad teaching. Does not make alot of sense does it? People take one verse out of context and think you can’t judge anyone.

I am going to address something else. I am afraid I am in a cult. I go to a Reformed Baptist Church. Here is part of my church’s statement of faith

We are a “Reformed Church” inasmuch as we embrace, as biblical, that system of theology known as the Doctrines of Grace. By this expression we mean in particular the doctrines of total depravity, unconditional election, definite atonement, effectual calling, and the perseverance of the saints. We rejoice in those glorious truths which uphold the sovereignty of God in the salvation of men, and which so gloriously affirm the great central reality that salvation is all of grace, and of the Lord!

Sounds horrible don’t it. Sounds Biblical too. Oh they do other things than that. They carry out Ephesians 4:12 “For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ:

And dare I say this one DISCIPLINE. From our Lord’s own mouth and in most Bibles it is written in red:

Mat 18:15  Moreover if thy brother shall trespass against thee, go and tell him his fault between thee and him alone: if he shall hear thee, thou hast gained thy brother. Mat 18:16  But if he will not hear thee, then take with thee one or two more, that in the mouth of two or three witnesses every word may be established. Mat 18:17  And if he shall neglect to hear them, tell it unto the church: but if he neglect to hear the church, let him be unto thee as an heathen man and a publican.

I ask you this “How can you do that and not judge?”

Then theres the warnings of wolves in sheep’s clothing and all. How do you deal with that? How do you deal with Paul’s epistle to the Church of Corinth, Galatia? How about Paul rebuking Peter? Since we are to be Christ like, how about the warnings to the churches in Revelation. What about those that Paul booted and put in “time out”?

2Ti 3:16  All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: 2Ti 3:17  That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.

I recently had a brother in Christ rebuke me in a certain area. It lifted my spirits and got me out of a hole I was in.  Kept me from giving up.

Many things I post here and on my Facebook page is just plain Scripture or things that are Scriptural. Things you can back up by Scripture. Many of the dissenters that run by here will not or cannot back up their side with Scripture. It’s all opinion and what they have been taught for years.  It’s a hard place to be when new truths are pointed out to you. I know, I have been there. It can be a struggle. You start doubting many things, but if you just take the time and faithfully study, not just read, the Scriptures and pray then the things I post will become clearer. Folks you got to get your emotions off your sleeves and become teachable. Get rid of that “how dare they” mentality. We must also get rid of “If it makes me feel good it must be right” attitude. Read through things 1 or 2 times. Take note of context. If I am wrong and you can point it out in Scripture I’ll recant whatever it was.

I know it hurts when people find wrong with things we like. We tend to make Idols out of things. Our feelings get hurt. We feel stupid. Again, I know Ive been there. Again it’s o.k. , not every one has a high level of discernment. Find someone you trust to help you with things. I’ve been burned on many things I thought were good. I was happy  to be corrected, was not easy at first but it becomes easier.

Bottom line, If I am in a cult that teaches me and equips me, and edify’s the body, and disciplines me, and does not allow me to settle, then just call me a cultist.

Keep in mind by calling a Reformed Baptist church a cult y’all are judging. Back it up with Scripture. Comments will not be moderated that are full of opinion. Scripture does not deal with opinion.

Scripture is sufficient.

 


 

Leave a Reply

Categories

