Posted by: reformbama | May 19, 2013

A question for pastor’s

In MY experience I have never seen a pastor get “called” to pastor another church around the same size as the church they were a pastor at. Always seems to be a bigger church.
I have certainly not seen one go from a big church to a small church.

What is your main driving force to change churches? Money? The thrill a having a church with the NUMBERS that seem more important than devoting your life to the same flock.

To me, it would seem to be a great joy to be there when a child is born. To be there when they are saved and baptized. To be there to marry them. Be there when their child is born. Be there for all the stuff in between. Repeat.
What are great way to see a church grow!

So tell me why you treat your “calling” as a career instead of a calling.

Now before you guys jump all over me with the BUTS, I realize there are exceptions to what I am saying. Like a pastor may need to leave to be near his aging parents.

So pastor(s) what say you?

Responses

  1. Been a pastor of three churches: First one went from 20 to 60 and then back down to 20 and then closed. Second one was about 35 and pretty much stayed there. Third church – started with 15 people and I am, after five years at roughly 35-40 every Sunday. In short I have ever really done this but I have seen is done.

    The reality of the ministry and this is part because church leaders want it and part of it is that modern western ministry forces it. You have to make a living and for the minister there are the same factors of personal economics as everyone else. If they have a family and it grows or kids get involved in things or go to college they have additional expenses just like anybody else.

    Comparatively speaking minsters are the poorest paid professionals in western society. It is very easy for people to say ‘follow your call” until your making a decision on how your going to feed your kids. A decision I have had to actually make three times in ministry. Part of the problem, is that people can be notoriously cheap when it comes to paying a pastor. So pastor’s look for security for their family and themselves. Imagine that, they are human. When they see a better opportunity they take it sometimes of necessity.

    Because I have been burned so many times on this by my previous two churches, I currently hold down a second job as a security blanket. It’s not that I do not trust God or many of my people, it is just I have learned, stuff happens and church people can be very hard on this area.

    • Thank you for your comment, ED.

      You have touched a little bit on my follow up post. If I can get to it.

  2. Excellent question and I love Ed’s input too. I haven’t needed to respond to another call yet. I haven’t reached the place where I can’t feed my two girls yet. The tipping point isn’t far off.

  3. What do you guys think about this? I ran across this doing some research.

    “A stranger cannot be a leader in the church. An impressive resume, even being a great guy, cannot substitute for the experience of living lives together and recognizing in a brother the qualities that make him an elder in the church. We need to get back to the Biblical model of Home Grown Elders, following men we know instead of getting to know men we are supposed to be following. “

  4. I can only speak from experience that this is true. My first two churches I was a stranger and they both had difficulties. My current church is only 5 miles from where I grew up near my hometown. It is much easier in many respects becasue of this.

    Looking at church history, the early church actually practiced a ‘master-apprentice” system of raising up bishops (pastors). The bishop always had one guy that was understood to be the ‘next guy’. Sometimes, they had a third. Not a bad system as it worked for centuries.


Leave a Reply

Categories

