Posted by: reformbama | August 26, 2013

Matt Pitt Redux Part 1a

I have to call this one part 1a just for it’s brevity.

Over the Past years I have seen Matt Pitt post quotes and take credit for them and the praise for them. It’s real easy to
find out if it is an original thought or not, you just Google it. When I quote someone I always give the source. Or at least try too. Sometimes
it gets dropped in the cut and paste and I don’t notice until later or never notice at all.

The Basement, AKA the sub level entertainment group, has a shirt FOR SALE. Go get yours now because Pitt’s defense team will need the $$$$.

changeup

The quote on that shirt is largely attributed to a direct quote to Ghandi, a Hindu for the most part,  or some derivative of what Ghandi had said. Do you see Ghandi getting the credit? NO.
So Pitt cult followers this is nothing new, in case you did not know.

So what exactly is the change Matt Pitt wants to see in the world from his current behavior?

Responses

  1. Hey how’s it going? It’s been a while since I have replied on the blog. I personally would like to stand up for Matt. When a person wants to reach souls for Christ they will come up against great opposition like Christ, and will be falsely reviled. I know you think his ministry stinks, but every time I watch it I see Biblical values such as Love God with everything and love your neighbor as yourself. God has used this ministry to help me to train youth to worship better, and has given me great encouragement when I was down, and has also inspired me to start a ministry that God has used to reach youth where I live, which our elders are in high support of.
    Watching him he calls people to live for God with everything, trust in Christ, and to make a difference in their communities. Those are values I want to pass on to the next generation.
    At the same time he could quote some of his sources better at times. I do see your point there. I do like though how he uses quotes on the shirts, because little phrases can be memorable, and meaningful. Kind of like the Proverbs in the Bible.
    I hope to see him bring evidence out from his videos and audio recordings.

    • DJ,
      I see bad theology. I’ll comment in more detail later. Spending the day with my much better half. One that I would not be off hitting the interview circuit so she would not have to endure an arrest warrant. One that would cooperate with authorities.

      • I know you haven’t had time to reply yet, but I just wanted to add a little bit. As you know from the past I did say some of his theology could improve. I am a strong 5 point Calvinist, and I hold to the main substance of doctrine in the Westminster Confession. I see the basement ministry show me something about God that I don’t see from most Presbyterians. At the same time I see the Presbyterians show me something else about God that the basement doesn’t. We all stumble in many ways like James says. I think I can learn more about God when I see the positives from deficient men in all camps, because even though they may have weaknesses they also have strengths, and can teach me something if I am open to seeing it. In no way though do I think we should wish wash when we talk about the truths of God’s Word. All the people that are close to me know that I don’t do that. I am very straightforward, and will defend God’s Word even in what some would call minor doctrines.
        Anyways, looking forward to your reply. I might not be able to reply to late tomorrow or wednesday due to work.

      • DJ,

        I wonder how both of these things can be true:

        “I think I can learn more about God when I see the positives from deficient men in all camps, because even though they may have weaknesses they also have strengths, and can teach me something…”

        and

        “In no way though do I think we should wish wash when we talk about the truths of God’s Word.”

        What is it you learn from men deficient in the knowledge of the Word of God and teach complete error when they veer from their usual feel-good platitudes that is their usual “teaching”? Scripture calls us to rebuke such false teachers.

  2. Shh…. don’t post stuff like this… the teenie-boppers might catch wind of this that would kill sales


Leave a Reply

Categories

